The APRA Music Grants programme contributes to the Waiata Maori Awards - Including the APRA Best Maori Songwriter Award and the Maori Music Expo.

About The Waiata Maori Awards Charitable Trust

The National Waiata Māori Music Awards was launched in 2007 at a gala event held in Palmerston North.

The launch was used to honour four artists including Sir Horward, composer Tommy Taurima, Missy and Tui Teka as well as kapahaka legends Ngapo and Pimia Wehi.

It was also where they launched the categories of the inaugural National Waiata Māori Music Awards and called for artists and composers to submit their work to be considered as the first recipients of the first awards ceremony which was held the following year, 2008, at the Hawke’s Bay Opera House in Hastings.

The awards event is run every year in September in Hawke’s Bay and incorporates four major events over two days, including the Māori Music Expo, Te Kohanga Māori Fashion Show, the Māori Music Celebrity Breakfast and the Waiata Māori Music Awards ceremony.

The awards event aims to develop and promote the diversity of all Māori music to showcase and celebrate its excellence, to recognise the unique vision of Māori composers and musicians.

Since the first awards ceremony in 2008, they have celebrated an array of artists from across the spectrum of the music industry, working in New Zealand, Australia and the UK.

Site Menu

Search the Website