The APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs) are presented biennially by APRA to the ‘shining lights’ within our songwriting industry.

The APRA Professional Development Awards (PDAs) were first awarded in Australia in 2001 to mark APRA's 75th Anniversary. New Zealand presented its first PDA in 2005. APRA now offers twelve PDAs across Australasia to promising emerging music writers in the early stages of their careers.

The PDAs are for New Zealand songwriters who can demonstrate that they possess outstanding potential in their field. There are three PDAs awarded each round, each receiving $10,000 cash towards development activities such as: overseas travel to enable recipients to attend music education classes; participating in co-writing activities; song writing workshops, composer seminars and/ or other relevant opportunities.

Professional Development Award Recipients.
Year Film, TV & Video Classical Pop Contemporary
2017 Claire Cowan Clovis McEvoy Chelsea Jade
2015 Hamish Oliver Sarah Ballard Mara TK
2013  Karl Steven  Alex Taylor  Nick Gaffaney
2011  Stephen Gallagher  Simon Eastwood  Miriam Clancy
2009  Grayson Gilmour  Samuel Holloway  Jessica Hansell
2007  -  -  John Chong Nee
2005  -  Robin Toan  -

For more information please direct all queries to Abbie Rutledge 09 623 4729 or 0800 69 2772 ext 729 or email 

Site Menu

Search the Website