Every year for over 40 years, Gore has hosted the New Zealand Gold Guitar Awards. During the week-long Gold Guitar celebrations The New Zealand Songwriters Trust present the NZ Country Music Awards. APRA are proud to support these awards by way of the APRA Best Country Music Song Award.

Entries for the 2017 NZ Country Music Awards are now open.

Please read the conditions of entry for the APRA Best Country Music Song.

Read Conditions of Entry

Then you can enter online, OR download an entry form to print out and mail to us.

Previous winners of this award include Matt Langley, Jess Chambers, Jools Topp, Kylie Harris, John Griffin, Barry Saunders, Bruce Dennis, Donna Dean, Delaney Davidson, Marlon Williams and Tami Neilson.

You’ll find all you need to know about the Gold Guitars week here: www.goldguitars.co.nz and the New Zealand Country Music Awards here: www.nzsongwriterstrust.co.nz


    • Early February: Entries open 
    • Mid March: Entries close
    • Early May: Finalists announced
    • Early June: Award presented at the New Zealand Country Music Awards in Gore


Year Writer/s (Performed by) Song
2016 Mel Parsons Alberta Sun
2015 Kaylee Bell & Jared Porter Pieces
2014 Tami Neilson & Delaney Davidson Whiskey & Kisses
2013 Marlon Williams & Delaney Davidson Bloodletter
2012 Delaney Davidson You're A Loser
2011 Donna Dean What Am I Gonna Do?
2010 Matt Langley 7:13
2009 Jess Chambers (Woolshed Sessions) Stringing Me Along
2008 Bruce Dennis Ain't Gonna Run
2007 Barry Saunders Pale Sun
2006 Jools Topp (Topp Twins) Tamworth
2005 Kylie Harris Give Me Sonething To Go On
2004 Donna Dean Work It Out



Site Menu

Search the Website