The APRA Silver Scroll Awards are a highly anticipated annual event that celebrates outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting. The APRA Silver Scroll Award was first awarded in 1965, and is widely considered the most important music award in New Zealand.

Since it was established in 1965, the Scroll has passed through the hands of so­me of New Zealand’s most well-loved and celebrated songwriters. Past winners include Ray Columbus, Shona Laing, Dave Dobbyn, Bic Runga, Don McGlashan, Neil Finn, Chris Knox, Che Fu, Scribe, Brooke Fraser, The Naked and Famous, Tami Neilson, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Lorde, and Marlon Williams.

Alongside the prestigious APRA Silver Scroll Award, also presented at the awards are the SOUNZ Contemporary and APRA Maioha Awards - for excellence in contemporary composition and Maori music respectively, as well as awards for the best music in a feature film and television series.

NZ Music Hall Of Fame

Each year the APRA Silver Scroll Awards hosts an induction into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame – recognising those who have had a significant impact on New Zealand life and culture through music.

Established in 2007, with inductions shared between APRA and Recorded Music NZ, the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame pays tribute to the legendary figures that have shaped, influenced and advanced popular music in New Zealand.

Inductees to the Hall of Fame to date include Jordan Luck, Johnny Devlin, The Topp Twins, Straitjacket Fits, Hirini Melbourne & Richard Nunns, Ray Columbus & the Invaders, The Formyula, Shihad, Hello Sailor, Dragon, Toy Love, Herbs, Shona Laing, Dave Dobbyn, Supergroove, Douglas Lilburn, The Exponents, Bill Sevesi, Moana Maniapoto, Bic Runga, Sharon O’Neill, The Clean, and Jenny Morris.

The Event

The 54th annual APRA Silver Scroll Awards will be held at Spark Arena in Auckland on Wednesday 2nd October 2019. Over 600 songwriters, musicians, industry and media from New Zealand and around the world will come together to celebrate songwriting at its highest level.

The night begins with pre-drinks at the venue, followed by a three course meal and the awards ceremony. The event is hosted by an MC, with past presenters including Oscar Kightley, Oliver Driver, Dai Henwood, John Campbell, and Anika Moa.

While the awards are an invitation-only event, the ceremony is streamed live online to give the public a window into the magic of the night.

The Performances

The APRA Silver Scroll Award performances have become the subject of legend. On the night the five Silver Scroll finalists’ songs, as well as the winners of the Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary awards are reinterpreted by bands and once-in-a-lifetime, one-off collaborations.

The performances are curated by a Music Director, who oversees the creation of the performances. Previous directors have included Karl Steven (Supergroove, Drab Doo Riffs, Heart Attack Alley), Jon Toogood (Shihad, The Adults), Don McGlashan, Godfrey de Grut, Lukasz Buda (The Phoenix Foundation), Shayne Carter (Dimmer, Straitjacket Fits), and Bic Runga.

Previous performances have included performances by Shihad, Dave Dobbyn, Warren Maxwell, Marlon Williams, Scribe, Kora, Mark de Clive Lowe, Julien Dyne, Ria Hall, Delaney Davidson, Bella Kalolo, King Kapisi, Che Fu, Electric Wire Hustle, Sisters Underground, Sola Rosa, Tami Neilson, Beastwars, Cut Off Your Hands, Scratch 22, Homebrew Crew, Three Houses Down, John Rowles, Aaradhna, Teeks, Fazerdaze, and Nadia Reid.

Event Info

02 Oct 2019 - 02 Oct 2019

Spark Arena

6pm - 11pm

Invite Only

Event Calendar



APRA AMCOS Boards Meet

View Event



The 54th annual APRA Silver Scroll Awards will be held at Spark Arena in Auckland on Weds Oct 2nd.

View Event



APRA AMCOS Boards Meet

View Event

Site Menu

Search the Website