Wednesday, 17 Feb 2016

Music producers announced for SongHubs Auckland 2016

SongHubs 2016 brings three of the best songwriters in the world to Auckland to collaborate with some of our most promising songwriters.Four local music producers will work with the songwriters, helping to shape the co-written songs into future hits.

The four producers are Sam De Jong (Stan Walker, Benny Tipene, Ruby Frost, Ginny Blackmore, Jackie Thomas), Josh Fountain (LEISURE, Kidz in Space, Annah Mac, Maya Payne, Thomston, MAALA), Djeisan Suskov (Ladi6, Tiny Ruins, LEISURE, Artisan Guns, Lisa Crawley, Cool Rainbows) and M Basa, who has worked alongside songwriters and producers such as Ollie and Phillip Jacobs (The Saturdays, Peter Andre), John Benson (All Saints), and Danny D (Beyonce, Rihanna, Ne-Yo).

"I’m thrilled that SongHubs Auckland 2016 has recognised the vital importance of producers to the New Zealand music industry – especially those who are writer-producers” says Recorded Music New Zealand board member and Chairman of Universal Music New Zealand Adam Holt. “Today, more than ever it is the writer producers who are the powerhouses behind modern pop music and building New Zealand’s strength in this area will have a huge impact both culturally and economically on New Zealand’s publishing and recording industries. SongHubs Auckland 2016 is an important step in that development.”

Producer, songwriter and APRA Ambassador Joel Little (Lorde, Broods, Sam Smith, Ellie Goulding, Kids of 88) is a strong believer in the value of collaboration.

“For me collaborating with other writers is when I enjoy making music the most - everybody has something different to offer and being able to build a connection with people and combine your separate ideas into something none of you would have thought of individually is a really exciting and satisfying thing” says Little. “Collaboration has definitely been a crucial part of all the best songs I’ve been involved in.”

SongHubs Auckland takes place at Roundhead Studios between 22nd – 26th February 2016. The visiting songwriters are MoZella (Madonna, Miley Cirus, One Direction, Ellie Goulding, Rihanna), Sacha Skarbeck (Miley Cyrus, Adele, James Blunt, Lana Del Rey, Backstreet Boys), and Lindy Robbins (Jason Derulo, David Guetta, Selena Gomez, 5 Seconds of Summer, Westlife).

SongHubs Auckland has been made possible with the support of APRA AMCOS, NZ On Air, Auckland Council, Recorded Music NZ and the New Zealand Music Commission. SongHubs is an APRA AMCOS initiative, supported by the Federal Government of Australia.

For media enquiries, including interview and image requests, contact:
Jamie Newman | APRA AMCOS | | 09 623 4719

Site Menu

Search the Website