Wednesday, 10 Oct 2018

A highlight of the annual Silver Scroll Songwriting Awards is the performance of the finalist songs, which are each re-imagined by a totally different group of musicians. The idea is to showcase the finalists' songwriting prowess rather than focusing on the recording people might be familiar with.

Bic Runga was the Musical Director for this year's show, and did an amazing job of curating the performers and arrangements.

Many thanks to the team at Radio NZ and Satellite Pictures for the wonderful sound and images.

  • Finn Andrews, Reb Fountain, Nadia Reid, the Black Quartet and band perform the Silver Scroll 2018 winning song  ‘Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore' by Marlon Williams:

  • Teeks and kapa haka group Ngā Tūmanako perform ‘Te Ahi Kai Pō’ by Ria Hall, Tiki Taane and Te Ori Paki, winner of the 2018 Maioha award for a song featuring te reo Māori:

  • Lontalius performs ‘Laugh It Off’ by Chelsea Jade, another finalist:

  • French Concession perform ‘Future Me Hates Me’ by The Beths:

  • Con Brio Children’s Choir, The Black Quartet and band perform ‘Hunnybee’ by Unknown Mortal Orchestra:

  • The finale for the evening was a re-forming of the Netherworld Dancing Toys, including Annie Crummer, for the 1985 hit 'For Today':

Site Menu

Search the Website