Thursday, 08 Aug 2019



25 years after releasing New Zealand’s landmark jazz album, Shift Left, and dismantling genre barriers in an adventurous new way, Nathan Haines is bringing his musical prowess to the role of Music Director at the 2019 APRA Silver Scroll Awards.

The Music Director is responsible for all the performances throughout the ceremony. These performances that have become somewhat legendary over the years and APRA are excited to have Nathan bringing his innovative and astute musical skills and understanding to the awards ceremony, particularly given that Nathan is in the midst of preparing for two very special Shift Left anniversary shows later this month.

On the night, the five Silver Scroll finalists’ songs, as well as the winners of the Maioha Award and SOUNZ Contemporary Award – Te Tohu Auaha, and a tribute to the NZ Music Hall of Fame inductee are reinterpreted by different artists, bands, and once-in-a-lifetime, one-off collaborations.

"A great honour has been bestowed upon me and I am both humbled and excited” says Nathan.

“I plan to bring together some amazing New Zealand artists and performers from many different backgrounds to perform these important works which have been judged by the many APRA members around the country. It's a unique opportunity and I'm looking forward to October 2 very, very much!"

Nathan is performing the Shift Left anniversary shows at the Civic Theatre in Auckland on August 24th and at the Trafalgar Centre in Napier on August 17, alongside an impressive band made up of the original Shift Left players - Sonny Sagala, Joel Haines, Richard Hammond, Kevin Field, Alan Brown, Miguel Fuentes, and Richard Cesan.

The finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award, APRA Screen Awards, APRA Maioha Award, and APRA Silver Scroll Award will be announced shortly.

All awards will be presented during a ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland on Wednesday October 2nd. As a part of the celebrations, APRA will also be inducting a songwriter/s into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

The awards are proudly supported by Hallertau Brewery, and Soho Wines.




APRA AMCOS, representing the Australasian Performing Right Association and the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society, is a non-profit organisation that collects and distributes song writing royalties to its 100,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members across New Zealand and Australia, and around 3,000,000 copyright owners worldwide.

For any media enquiries including interview and image requests, please contact:

Lauren Clough | MaidenNZ | | + 64 21 223 6788
Lydia Jenkin | APRA AMCOS | | 09 623 4719

Site Menu

Search the Website