Thursday, 03 Jan 2019

New Year Honours 2019

We're sending a very warm congratulations to Jenny Morris who has been made a member of the New Zealand Order of Merit, and Malcolm Black who has been made an officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit, for the recognition of their tireless work for songwriters and the music industry, as they are named in the Queen's list of New Year Honours for 2019. Very well deserved.

Jenny’s name is familiar not only to those who were fans of her powerful pop songs in the 80s and 90s, but also to many of those in the music community who have witnessed the lifelong dedication she has displayed in supporting and speaking up for fellow artists.

Jenny was inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame at the 2018 APRA Silver Scroll Awards, recognising her songwriting legacy, first in the all-female band Wide Mouth Frogs, and then with The Crocodiles, before moving to Australia to pursue a solo career, which saw her become the face of 1980s Aussie-Kiwi pop.

She wrote, worked, and toured with INXS, Neil Finn, and Prince, performed for Australian troops in Afghanistan, became an ambassador for World Vision in Kenya, and began a lifelong association with Nordoff Robbins Music therapy charity.

Jenny has also been instrumental in representing songwriters across Australia and New Zealand on the APRA AMCOS board, becoming chair person in 2013 – a position which she still holds.

Malcolm Black’s name will also ring bells for fans of 80s pop hits, as the songwriter and singer of Netherworld Dancing Toys ‘For Today’, but it is his work on the business side of music which has made the greatest impact.

First working as a music lawyer and then as Director of A&R at Sony Music NZ, Malcolm worked with artists including Bic Runga, Dave Dobbyn, Che Fu, Stellar, Dimmer, and Brooke Fraser. He then moved into artist management and became co-manager of Neil Finn and Crowded House.

Most recently he has been working for Les Mills International establishing their music licensing and creation division and then leading their business expansion utilising digital technology to provide programming direct to consumer.

Malcolm also became the NZ Writer Director on the APRA AMCOS board in 2016, and has been a valuable asset in ensuring that songwriters are well supported and fairly recognised as the creative and financial cornerstone of that industry, as the new digital music industry continues to change in fast, complex ways.

They've both made pivotal contributions to the local music landscape and we're delighted to see they've been honoured.

Site Menu

Search the Website