Monday, 07 Jan 2019


Nominations are now open for the 2018 Taite Music Prize, which comes with a $10,000 cash prize, and recognises the best albums of the past year.

Nominations are also open for the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut, which will go to an artist or band who released their debut album last year.
Check out all the information and criteria for each prize HERE and get your entries in!

Enter Here

About the Taite Music Prize: 

Named after the late Dylan Taite, one of the country’s most highly respected music journalists, The Taite Music Prize‘s purpose is to recognise outstanding creativity for an entire collection of music contained on one album. The winner receives a cash prize of $10,000, to be spent as they wish – with thanks to Founding Partner of the Taite Music Prize, Recorded Music NZ. Additionally through the support of Red Bull Studios Auckland, the winner receives recording time at the Studios and a year’s supply of Red Bull product.

Also recognised at the ceremony are the Independent Music NZ Classic Record award – acknowledging a defining NZ record from our yesteryear and the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut award – celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. Thanks to IMNZ and the Event Partner, this award winner receives a $2000 cash prize plus a live performance slot programmed at Auckland Live.

Past winners include:

2010 – Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)

2011 – Ladi6 – The Liberation Of (What? Music)

2012 – Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)

2013 – SJD – Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)

2014 – Lorde – Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)

2015 – Jakob – Sines (Shoot The Freak)

2016 – Silicon – Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)

2017 – Street Chant – Hauora (Arch Hill Recordings)

2018 – Aldous Harding – Party (Flying Nun Records / 4AD)

Site Menu

Search the Website