The APRA Silver Scroll Award; awarded to APRA Members by APRA Members.

The Silver Scroll Award is New Zealand's most prestigious songwriting award, recognising outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting.

Since it was established in 1965, the Silver Scroll Award has passed through the hands of some of New Zealand’s most well loved and celebrated songwriters. Past winners include Ray Columbus, Hammond Gamble, Shona Laing, Dave Dobbyn, Bic Runga, Don McGlashan, Neil Finn, Chris Knox, King Kapisi, Che Fu and Godfrey de Grut, Brooke Fraser, Scribe and P-Money, James Milne and Luke Buda, Ruban and Kody Nielson, Ella Yelich-O’Connor (Lorde) and Joel Little, Tami Neilson, Marlon Williams, and Aldous Harding.

As the only peer voted music award in New Zealand, the APRA Silver Scroll Award provides a unique opportunity for songwriters to recognise outstanding achievement by their peers.  A panel of prominent APRA members narrow all entries to the awards down to a Top 20, which are then voted on by APRA's 10,000 members. The votes cast by APRA's wider membership determine the winner of the Silver Scroll Award, as well as the five finalists.

The winner of the award receives a payment of $5,000, and takes the freshly engraved APRA Silver Scroll Award into their care for 11 months.


Previous Winners
Year Writer/s (Performed By) Song
2020 Stella Bennett, Joshua Fountain, Djeisan Sukov (Benee) Glitter
2019 Hannah Topp (Aldous Harding) The Barrel
2018 Marlon Williams Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore
2017 Ella Yelich-O'Connor, Joel Little, and Jack Antonoff (Lorde) Green Light
2016 Thomas Oliver If I Move To Mars
2015 Ruban Nielson & Kody Nielson (Unknown Mortal Orchestra)  Multi-Love
2014 Tami Neilson & Joshua Neilson  Walk (Back to Your Arms)
2013  Ella Yelich-O'Connor & Joel Little (Lorde)  Royals
2012  Stephanie Brown (Lips)  Everything To Me
2011  Dave Baxter (Avalanche City)  Love Love Love
 Aaron Short, Alisa Xayalith & Thom Powers (The Naked And Famous)  Young Blood
2009  James Milne & Luke Buda (Lawrence Arabia)  Apple Pie Bed
2008  Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris (OpShop)  One Day
2007  Brooke Fraser  Albertine
2006  Don McGlashan (Mt Raskil Preservation Society featuring Hollie Smith)  Bathe In The River
2005  Dann, Jon & Peter Hume (Evermore)  It's Too Late
2004  Malo Luafutu & Peter Wadams (Scribe & P Money)  Not Many
2003  Donald McNulty, Te Awanui Reeder, David Atai, Junior Rikiau & Feleti Strickson-Pua (Nesian Mystik)  For The People
2002  Che Ness & Godfrey de Grut (Che Fu)  Misty Frequencies
2001  Neil Finn  Turn and Run
2000  Chris Knox  My Only Friend
1999  Bill Urale (King Kapisi)  Reverse Resistance
1998  Dave Dobbyn  Beside You
1997  Greg Johnson  Liberty
1996  Bic Runga  Drive
1995  Mark Tierney, Paul Casserly, & Anthony Ioasa (Strawpeople)  Sweet Disorder
1994  Don McGlashan (The Mutton Birds)  Anchor Me
1993  Dave Dobbyn  Belle of the Ball
1992  Shona Laing  Mercy of Love
1991  Rikki Morris  Heartbroke
1990  Guy Wishart  Don't Take Me For Granted
1989  Stephen Bell-Booth  Hand It Over
1988  Shona Laing  Soviet Snow
1987  Dave Dobbyn  You Oughta Be In Love
1986  Tony Waine (The Narcs)  Abandoned By Love
1985  Malcolm Black & Nick Sampson (Netherworld Dancing Toys)  For Today

 Hammond Gamble

*Wayne Gillespie was also awarded a special APRA Award for his song Away With You, in recognition of the judges particular difficulty in deciding on a winner.

 Look What Midnight's Done To Me
1983  Stephen Bell-Booth  All I Want Is You
1982  Stephen Young (Mother Goose)  I Can't Sing Very Well
1981  [No award in 1981 - Awarded in 2015] Phil Judd, Mark Hough, Wayne Stevens (The Swingers)  Counting The Beat 
1980  Paul Schreuder  You've Got Me Loving You
1979  Sharon O'Neill  Face In A Rainbow
1978  Steve Allen  Why Do They?
1977  Lea Maalfrid  Lavender Mountain
1976  Mike Harvey (Salty Dogg)  All Gone Away
1975  John Hanlon  Windsongs
1974  John Hanlon  Lovely Lady
1973  Ray Columbus & Mike Harvey  Jangles, Spangles & Banners
1972  Stephen Robinson (Tamburlaine)  Lady Wakes Up
1971  Corben Simpson (Littlejohn)  Have You Heard a Man Cry?
1970  Wayne Mason (The Fourmyula)  Nature
1969  David Jordan (The Avengers)  Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind
1968  David Jordan  I Shall Take My Leave
1967  Roger Skinner (Larry's Rebels)  Let's Think of Something
1966  Ray Columbus  I Need You
1965  Wayne Kent-Healey  Teardrops






Site Menu

Search the Website