Tuesday, 26 Jul 2016

APRA Silver Scroll Awards – 2016 Top 20

Emerging talent sits alongside some of the most prominent names in New Zealand music in this year’s rich and varied list of Top 20 songs vying for the coveted APRA Silver Scroll Award.

The 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 20 are:




10 Years

Seth Haapu                                                                      

Seth Haapu

A Lake

James Milne                                                                         

Lawrence Arabia

All Eyes In The Room

Gareth Thomas

Gareth Thomas

All Over You

Djeisan Suskov / Jaden Parkes / Josh Fountain / Thomas Young / Jordan Arts


August Song

Anji Sami 

The Sami Sisters

Buried By The Burden

Devin Abrams / Louis Baker

Pacific Heights feat. Louis Baker

Don't Rate That

David Dallas / Jordan Iusitini / Aaron Iusitini

David Dallas


Lydia Cole                                                                           

Lydia Cole

Give Up Your Dreams

Samuel Scott / Christopher O'Connor / Lukasz Buda / Conrad Wedde / William Ricketts / Thomas Callwood

The Phoenix Foundation

Harmony House

David Dobbyn / Samuel Scott / Lukasz Buda

Dave Dobbyn

If I Move To Mars

Thomas Oliver                                                                    

Thomas Oliver

Love Will Be A River

Holly Arrowsmith                                                            

Holly Arrowsmith with Fly My Pretties


Mara Tekahika (Mara TK) / Deva Mahal / David Wright

Electric Wire Hustle feat. Deva Mahal

One Question

Frank Eliesa / Swapnil Gomez / Kenji Iwamitsu-Holdaway / Jong-Yun Lee / Laughton Kora / Campbell Duncan

Yoko-Zuna feat. Laughton Kora

Pedestrian Support League

Emily Littler / Billy Rogers / Alex Brown / Christopher Varnham    

Street Chant


Rebecca Melrose                                                                


Stuck In Melodies

Andrew Keoghan / Wayne Bell

Andrew Keoghan

The First Man

Tami Neilson / Jay Neilson

Tami Neilson

The Hours

Benjamin Morley

Mice On Stilts

We Will Rise Again

Shayne Carter

Shayne P Carter

Having last year marked the 50th presentation of the APRA Silver Scroll Award, the event is now well and truly woven into the vibrant tapestry that is the New Zealand music scene. 2016’s Top 20 further reinforces that, with a strong list of songs and songwriters that are destined to leave an indelible impact not just on New Zealanders but on those around the world.

“It is our pleasure to celebrate the work of New Zealand's songwriters and composers at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards. A song can take an age or a moment to write but the pleasure great songs give us are rewards to treasure” says APRA AMCOS’ Anthony Healey.

“These songs come from the new and old, the north and south and span all genre. They are connected only by the fact they've been written here in New Zealand and the fact they are each, in their own unique way, excellent” he adds.

Past recipients of the prestigious award include a long list of iconic Kiwi music stalwarts - from Dave Dobbyn, Don McGlashan and Shona Laing to Neil Finn, Bic Runga, and Ray Columbus. They’re joined by a younger generation of music makers that include James Milne & Luke Buda, Ella Yelich-O’Connor (Lorde) & Joel Little, and Aaron Young, Alisa Xayalith & Thom Powers (The Naked and Famous).

The APRA Silver Scroll Award will be presented at Vector Arena in Auckland on Thursday 29th September. The other awards presented on the night are:

  • APRA Maioha Award, celebrating exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori
  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award

As a part of the celebrations APRA will also be inducting a songwriter/s into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame. 

Site Menu

Search the Website